My Favourite Places: Seattle

Welcome to part 1 of ‘My Favourite Places’!

Today I want to introduce you to my favourite city. It is a beautiful, lively, exciting city, with tons to explore and do, shop, and eat, all whilst being close to the beach and mountains. There’s a million and one reasons why I love Seattle, Washington so much, including the numerous great memories I have here, but I find it often under looked, and certainly rather unknown by us Brits.

Welcome to Seattle!

Seattle Top 3:

    1. Pike Place Market – This is one of Seattle’s most popular tourist destinations and it’s not hard to see why. The market stalls range from fresh fruit and veg, to beautiful floral bouquets, handmade clothes and jewellery, to amazing art work. You could spend absolutely hours wondering around taking it all in. Be sure to watch the Pike Place Fish Market, where the sellers throw customer’s orders back and forth to each other, singing and shouting as they go. Also, grab yourself and drink and pastry and sit down at the far end of the market for the most beautiful view over the Puget Sound.fish
    2. Bill Speidel’s Underground Tour – I finally did this tour after many day trips to Seattle and couldn’t believe I hadn’t done it sooner! The Seattle underground is a network of underground passageways and basements downtown. They used to be the ground level of the city originally, in the mid-19th century, but the streets were elevated leaving these passageways and streets to disuse. The tour is absolutely fascinating, taking you below the streets of Seattle to walk the old streets of Seattle, and hear the tales of the tunnels uses during the prohibition!und
    3. The Space Needle – Probably Seattle’s best known landmark, the Space Needle is hard to miss. Whether you decide to pay to go up to the top, or take the cheaper option of finding the perfect viewing point, the Space Needle just completes the Seattle skyline. My favourite views of the Needle come from the Queen Anne Hill neighbourhood of the city, specifically Kerry Park. From here you can take in views of the whole of downtown Seattle, and on a clear day you can even see Mount Rainier in the distance!
abb

View from Kerry Park at 6am.

aa

Daytime view, feat. Mount Rainier in the distance.

I am absolutely 100% in love with Seattle and its beauty. I generally find that when I fall in love with cities, it’s because I could honestly see myself living there, and fitting in to the lifestyle of the city, and with Seattle that is certainly true. Other top recommendations are to grab a Starbucks from the ‘original’ Starbucks coffee shop (just opposite Pike Place Market), to visit the Gum Wall (again, very near to Pike Place), to take a drive around the neighbourhoods surrounding Lake Washington (such as Denny-Blaine where you can catch a glimpse of Kurt Cobain’s house), or to drive a little out of the city and take in the surrounding mountain views. There’s also sports to enjoy in the city – they have a football (soccer) team, MLB baseball team and NFL team (Seahawks – Superbowl Champs 2014 yo!). The city is home to the University of Washington and the Huskies (booo, go Ducks!) (boasting a beautiful campus you can visit). Seattle is also famous for its great food and coffee shops, however I have yet to experience to wonders of this…There’s always next time!

cent

The most beautiful city skyline!

Seattle

I’ll be back for you soon, Seattle!

8 responses to “My Favourite Places: Seattle

    • Hi Noor,
      Thank you so much for following. I hope you enjoy my posts! Your blog is beautiful – definitely followed back.
      Love Caitlin x

  1. Pingback: Portland, Oregon | HEAD OUT WEST·

  2. Coming from Seattle, I love that you love my city! It is so beautiful and there’s so much culture there. Thank you for following my blog as well, looking forward to seeing more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

