Wanderlust Wednesday: Slovenia

Slovenia is a small country in central Europe, tucked away between Italy, Croatia, Austria and Hungary. Half of the country is covered in forest, it touches the Alps and the Mediterranean. A couple of my friends visited the country a few years ago and loved their trip, and I’ve been dying to go ever since (I’m trying to wrangle a guest post out of one of them!). 

The top of my Slovenia travel list is Lake Bled…

Lake Bled.

Church of the Assumption on Bled Island.

But there’s so much more! Slovenia looks like a outdoor lovers paradise…

Nature in Bohinj.

Soča River Valley – Bovec, Slovenia

Triglav National Park.

As well as culture in the cities of Maribor, and the capital Ljubljana.

Maribor.

Ljubljana.

Ljubljana.

3 responses to “Wanderlust Wednesday: Slovenia

  1. We cycled Slovenia last year and it truly is one of the quaintest and most beautiful countries I have been to. Lake Bled is magical. Even the photos cant do it justice.:)

  2. Definitely a place you should visit… I loved the three weeks I spent there in 2012. One of many highlights was hiking around Lake Bohinj and, with hardly a soul within a kilometer or two, taking a dip “au naturel” in the clearest lake water I’ve ever encountered!

    I’ll have to revisit those photos and post something here on WordPress…

Leave a Reply

