Oregon Outdoors

In September 2011 I packed my bags and set off on the biggest adventure of my life: I moved 5,000 miles around the world to live in Eugene, Oregon for a year.

Studying abroad was a requirement of my university degree and I made the choice to attend the University of Oregon – I picked UO because of the beautiful scenery, West coast location, the course offerings, and the fact that the school is big in college football (I wanted a truly all-American year!).

Oregon.

Oregon is located in the Pacific Northwest region of America, above California and below Washington state. The state’s landscape is diverse – from the Pacific Ocean, to the Cascade Mountains, evergreen forests, high desert and Great Basin.

Eugene is the second-largest city in the state, about an hour inland from the coast, and an hour away from the mountains to the east.

I’ve been delaying writing posts about Eugene, and Oregon generally because I honestly don’t know where to begin. I’m going to have to break down my time and experiences there into manageable little blog-sized chucks…And I guess this is the first!

I just want to share the natural beauty of Oregon, in the hopes that you begin to fall in love as much as I have! (All pictures taken by me.)

Sahalie and Koosah Falls, Willamette National Forest, Oregon.

Spencer's Butte, Eugene, Oregon.

Spencer’s Butte, Eugene, Oregon.

Salt Creek Falls, Oregon.

Salt Creek Falls, Oregon.

Salt Creek Falls, Oregon.

Salt Creek Falls, Oregon.

Sahalie and Koosah Falls, Willamette National Forest, Oregon.

Sahalie and Koosah Falls, Willamette National Forest, Oregon.

Eugene, Oregon.

Eugene, Oregon.

Spencer's Butte, Eugene, Oregon.

Spencer’s Butte, Eugene, Oregon.

Hiking in the Willamette National Forest, Oregon.

Hiking in the Willamette National Forest, Oregon.

Devil's Elbow State Park, Oregon.

Devil’s Elbow State Park, Oregon.

Devil's Elbow State Park, Oregon.

Devil’s Elbow State Park, Oregon.

Lincoln City, Oregon.

Lincoln City, Oregon.

Oregon coast.

Oregon coast.

Florence, Oregon.

Florence, Oregon.

Look out for more posts about Oregon, and my time in Eugene…coming soon!

One response to “Oregon Outdoors

Leave a Reply

