Out of Plane Windows…

I am terrified of flying. I have a love-hate relationship with the entire thing…

I love airports: the feeling of being in transition, between two places but not quite anywhere; people watching; dreaming up the next trip destination being inspired by places I’ve never heard of appearing on the departures boards.

I hate flying: take-off; the noises and cranks and sounds of the plane; turbulence; realising I’ll be 35,000 feet up in the air in this metal tube for the next however many hours…you get the idea.

Yesterday I saw a post on Buzzfeed of stunning pictures taken out of aeroplane windows, and it got me thinking about some of the amazing things I have seen during various flights in the past few years. These moments make me fall back in love with flying and, I mean, it IS pretty incredible that we can get from A to B in a capsule in the sky.

I thought I’d share with you a few of the highlights and my absolute favourites…

The Grand Canyon

Grand Canyon

I was on a flight to Seattle from New York, after a short connection in Phoenix, Arizona. About 15 minutes after take-off, I saw something creeping into the horizon out the window. As we got closer, I realised we were flying over the Grand Canyon! It was unbelievable – bigger than I ever would have imagined, the colours so rich. I had to ask an air-hostess to confirm because I just couldn’t believe I was being treated to that view from an ordinary flight service! Breathtaking.

London, at sunrise

CC: Creative Commons

c/o Creative Commons

I had just spent three and a half months living in America, working at a summer camp, and I was finally returning home. I was really sad to be leaving all the friends I had made, and saying goodbye to the best three months of my life. 20 minutes from landing, I opened my window blind to the view of London at sunrise. I could see the Houses of Parliament, Westminster and the London Eye along the River Thames. It was beautiful! And suddenly I wasn’t quite so sad to be home.

Manhattan, NYC

Manhattan.

My absolute dream for such a long time was to visit New York City, so seeing the Manhattan skyline appear as we landed at sunset gave me butterflies!

The Alps

al

Last summer I flew over the Alps on the way to Crete. Mountains make my heart really, really happy (especially snow-capped ones!).

7 responses to “Out of Plane Windows…

  1. This is such a great post. The pictures are beautiful and I completely agree. I personally don’t have a fear of flying but my mum gets panicky, she soon calms down when she looks at the view. It is awe-inspiring to see the world from that perspective and we are so lucky. The Alps and the Grand Canyon particularly sound incredible to see from that height – I think I have flown over the Alps before but don’t really remember it… I wrote a post about why sometimes the travelling can be as good as arriving at your destination – http://wp.me/p3SwKd-jK you might enjoy it 🙂 x

    • Thanks Lucy, glad you enjoyed it. Mountains are always beautiful to fly over, but the Grand Canyon was something else! Spectacular! Thanks for the link, I’ll check out your post! Thanks for stopping by x

  2. Amazing post! The pictures are beautiful and I can relate to you about disliking the noises on planes and I personally dislike the change in air pressure, but what you can see from that perspective is the real treat. I was lucky enough to fly from one side of America to the other from NY-LA and I couldn’t stop looking out the window and taking pictures. My boyfriend told me to just relax and enjoy the plane ride but I refused because you only see beauty like the mountains from that perspective every now and then and I was definitely enjoying the views.

    • Ah the full cross country of America is a great flight too – I even find the ‘boring’ fields across the whole Midwest a wonderful view! You’re right – we don’t get that perspective of the world very often. x

Leave a Reply

