Summer Solstice in Leicester

Sometimes you don’t have to travel very far to have an amazing experience…

Kasabian is a rock band which was formed by lads from Leicester, my hometown, and this year marks the 10th anniversary of their first album. They have been trying to organise a ‘homecoming‘ gig for years and yesterday it finally happened, to a crowd of around 40,000!

My brother and I received tickets for the show for Christmas and headed down to join the party. I wouldn’t call myself a massive Kasabian fan but I know their big tunes and knew it would be an amazing day for Leicester with a great atmosphere. We started down Queens Rd, just across from Victoria Park where the event was taking place.

People drinking in the street down Queens Rd.

People drinking in the street down Queens Rd.

The atmosphere was already great, and we soaked up some sun with beers on the park before heading into the enclosed concert area.

ba2

Our spot!

Without really trying, or meaning to, we secured a great spot – near the front, but with a security point in front of us which meant there was a gap allowing us to see over everyones’ heads!

With the brother.

With the brother.

The support acts were mixed: Beardyman was okay, Zane Lowe was pretty wicked, Jagwar Ma were really dull, and Rudimental was INSANE! Everyone was singing along to their recent hits, and my brother put me up on his shoulders for a song too.

View from the shoulders!

View from the shoulders!

After Rudimental’s set, a countdown appeared on the screens informing us that Kasabian would be taking the stage in 45 minutes…

Countdown

Countdown

Excitement grew and we were pushed forward by the crowds of people trying to get a little closer to the action. By the time Kasabian finally took to the stage, crowds were singing football chants (the band members are proud supporters of Leicester City F.C. – who were recently promoted to the Premiership, I’ll have you know!) and chanting ‘LES-TAH’ and ‘EEZ-EH’. Finally, Kasabian appeared and it all turned a little insane.

ba4

Kasabian.

ba6

Kasabian taking a bow.

I only took a couple of pictures in between jumping up and down, being moshed upon and having beer thrown over me…! It was absolutely mental, but as my brother said as we left the park, ‘tonight made me proud to be from Leicester‘.

5 responses to “Summer Solstice in Leicester

    • Hopefully not…I’d imagine mostly just bruises! It was completely crazy with everyone jumping and moshing.

  1. I’m from Leicester too, and I completely agree that the concert made you proud to be from there. Great pictures and videos by the way! It was truly an amazing concert that will go down in history!

  2. Aw, this was a very good post. Taking the time and actual effort to make a superb article…
    but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot
    and don’t manage to get anything done.

Leave a Reply

